Friday, Jun 14 2024 | Time 05:12 Hrs(IST)

Saikat & Illingworth to stand in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup opener

Saikat & Illingworth to stand in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup opener

Dubai, May 22 (UNI) Shahid Saikat will become the first Bangladeshi umpire to officiate at an ICC Men’s T20 World Cup when he stands in the tournament opener between USA and Canada.
Saikat, 47, took charge of five matches at last year’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup and has also been on the panel at two ICC Women’s Cricket World Cups and the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2018.
The trailblazing official will be joined in the middle on the opening night by Richard Illingworth, who won the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year for the third time in 2023 and took
charge of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Final between India and Australia last year.
Richie Richardson will be the match referee in Dallas, with Sam Nogajski as TV umpire and Langton Rusere in place as fourth umpire.
Nogajski is one of five umpires making their senior men’s tournament debut in June, with Rashid Riaz to make his first appearance in the second match of the tournament, between Papua New Guinea and West Indies in Guyana. That match will also mark a milestone for match referee Andy Pycroft, who will bring up his 150th T20I.
Jayaraman Madanagopal’s debut will be later that day when Namibia and Oman go head-to-head in Barbados.
The first of Allahudien Paleker’s four on-field group games will be between USA and Pakistan, while fellow debutant Asif Yaqoob will line up alongside Nitin Menon for England’s clash with Scotland,
according to ICC media release.
Illingworth and Rodney Tucker will be the on-field umpires for the eagerly-awaited Group A clash between India and Pakistan on June 9.
Kumar Dharmasena, Chris Gaffaney, Richard Kettleborough and Joel Wilson are among the other experienced officials returning for more World Cup action, with the knockout stage appointments to be announced at a later date.
Match Officials for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024:
Umpires: Chris Brown, Kumar Dharmasena, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Allahudien Paleker, Richard Kettleborough, Jayaraman Madanagopal, Nitin Menon, Sam Nogajski, Ahsan Raza, Rashid Riaz, Paul Reiffel, Langton Rusere, Shahid Saikat, Rodney Tucker, Alex Wharf, Joel Wilson and Asif Yaqoob.
Match referees: David Boon, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Andrew Pycroft, Richie Richardson and Javagal Srinath.

More News

Shakib behind Bangladesh's Super 8 qualification push

14 Jun 2024 | 12:16 AM

St. Vincent, June 13 (UNI): In a languid afternoon, Bangladesh unfurled a dramatic revival, clinching a stunning victory over the Netherlands and significantly bolstering their aspirations for the T20 World Cup 2024 Super 8 here on Thursday.

see more..
Dilip Kumar annexes TNBSA Snooker tourney title

Dilip Kumar annexes TNBSA Snooker tourney title

13 Jun 2024 | 9:43 PM

Chennai, June 13 (UNI) In a thrilling display of skill and determination, Dilip Kumar of Southern Railways annexed the title in the TNBSA - Fast 35 Single Red Open Snooker Tournament '24.

see more..

Punjabi athletes gear up for Paris Olympics with state support

13 Jun 2024 | 9:22 PM

Chandigarh, June 13 (UNI) Each Punjabi athlete participating in the Olympics will receive Rs 15 lakh for their preparation, state Sports Minister Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer announced on Thursday.

see more..
India men to meet Pak in Asian Team squash quarters

India men to meet Pak in Asian Team squash quarters

13 Jun 2024 | 9:09 PM

Chennai, June 13 (UNI) India men qualified for the quarterfinals of the Asian Team Squash Championships in Dalian, China on Thursday as the second team from Pool D behind Japan following a 3-0 victory over Mongolia for their second win in the four-team group.

see more..

2W Natl Racing : Sarthak Chavan quickest in official practice

13 Jun 2024 | 9:06 PM

Chennai, June 13 (UNI) Pune’s Sarthak Chavan (TVS Racing) was the fastest rider on the day in the official practice sessions which kick-started the first round of the MRF MMSC-FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the Madras International Circuit, at Irungattukottai, about 40 km from here on Thursday, which saw the competitors getting a feel of the conditions.

see more..